Posted by: jennypenny73 | April 6, 2012

Change Is Good For The Soul

Well it seems I’m long overdue for a blog post!  August 2011 was my last one!  Where does the time go???  Well, there’s lots of changes coming in the next few weeks that I wanted to explain to people.  Some people will find these changes sad, some will find them exciting…I am finding them to be a mix of both.

The sad part is, I’ve decided to close my shop in St. John’s (don’t worry, there’s good news coming too!).  Unfortunately the debt associated with the shop is just growing too large, and I need to get things under control.  The problem isn’t customers…I have the World’s greatest customers.  The problem is, my entire life comes out of this shop…rent, car payment, groceries, bills…and all that is aside from the costs associated with the shop.  And (I know some of you have noticed) that the stock in the shop has suffered…it’s been very difficult to keep up with colour selection and expanding into new lines.  It’s not how I wanted my shop to be…my dream was a shop that was bursting at the seams with colour, and selection, and beautiful, glorious fibres…but reality got in the way, as it often does.  I’ve tried everything I can think of to make this work (I’ve even been working a night shift job to help…but it hasn’t helped enough)…and now I need to make some changes before it’s too late and there’s no more A Good Yarn at all.

So what’s the good news you are asking???  Please, we need some good news!!!  The good news is…though the brick & mortar shop will be gone, A Good Yarn will not be…I have decided to try my hand at having an online only shop.  I’m very excited at this prospect (though it will take time to build up to full capacity after the move)!!!  It will be based out of Halifax, Nova Scotia and be a proper online shop…as opposed to just my regular website and mail order service I have now.  It will have a shopping cart (for all those emergency 2:00am yarn shopping sprees), free shipping in Canada over $75, and best of all…the rewards point program will continue online!!!

Why Halifax and not St. John’s?  Well all I can say is Nova Scotia is my heart’s home…if that makes sense to anyone.  The first time I visited NS, the very moment I drove off the PEI ferry in Pictou, I knew I was home…and I moved down the very next month.  It’s very hard to explain, but my heart and soul feel different when I’m there.  The friends I’ve made here though are what I’m going to miss.  The friends I’ve made here are lifelong friends.  Some I met through The Rooms knitting group (through the Ravelry NL Knitters & Crocheters group), and some were customers that became amazing friends.  And there’s even my wonderful customers, that were so supportive of my shop and so happy to have me there…that even though I didn’t get to know you on a personal level outside the shop, you have truly touched my life, and made my daily life for the past 2 years just more enjoyable all around.  I hope some of you will want to stay my customers even after the changeover, and hope to gain some new, and amazing customers from the rest of Canada.  I will do my best to keep making your yarn buying experience a fun, enjoyable, and personal experience.

So what are the important dates you need to know???  There’s a few!  First off there’s my 2 Year Anniversary Sale! It will be starting THIS Tuesday April 10 and running until Sunday April 15!  Everything (except consignment items) will be 20% off!!!  For the week after the big sale, the lines that I will no longer be carrying in the online shop (and there’s only a few), will stay on sale until I close…to sell off what ever didn’t go during the big sale.  The rest I will be taking with me for the online opening.  The last day for the shop will be Sunday, April 22nd…everyone’s invited that day to stop in and say goodbye (*tears*)…there may be treats, and BOTH pups will be there together (and yes, they will most likely be wild and ill behaved…but hey, it’s their going away party too!).  I will be moving to Halifax on May 1st (got an AWESOME summer sublet right downtown that I’m super excited about!).  And…A Good Yarn‘s shiny, new online shop will be unveiled May 15th!!!!!!

So that’s the news…happy and sad.  But change is good for the soul, and I’m very excited about the changes ahead of me.  Over the next few weeks there will be updates here (as well as the Facebook and Ravelry groups) on what’s on sale, how my plans are coming along, and how I’ll no doubt be freaking out as moving day gets closer and closer.  If you have any questions about the move or the new form the shop will be taking, or the shop fixtures (shelving, lights, cash register, funky white Christmas tree with the yarn ball decorations) I’m selling off…please don’t hesitate to drop me a line :) agoodyarn(at)rocketmail(dot)com

Talk to you soon!  And hope to see you next week at the Anniversary Sale…AKA – The Jenny Needs Moving Money For Her Unbelievably Ridiculously Expensive Move sale :D

Much love,

Jenny.

Responses

  1. All the Best Jenny and take good care! Wishing you every success and happiness in your new adventure!

  2. Maid! Sad to see you go but excited for this next step in your life! Talk to you soon.

  3. Jenny I am so sad to see the shop close and to lose you to Halifax… but I’m glad you have exciting plans for the future. :-)

  4. Happy for you. Sad for us. Good luck. I understand the “heart home” thing. Keep your soul happy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

