Posted by: jennypenny73 | February 9, 2011

Berroco Days

Berroco days are coming soon!  Woo hoo!!

Since opening in April, I’ve had quite a few requests/inquiries about Berroco yarns from my customers.  As well as many people coming in with Berroco patterns that I’ve had to find substitute yarns for.  Then a while ago, our yarn group had a swap.  I received a (not so) subtle hint from Lesley, my swap partner, and was given some Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine, a beautiful, wine coloured, fingering weight yarn that came in a nice hefty skein…I was sold (partially).

Then a few weeks ago I called Berroco, just to make kind of a loose inquiry, and was completely blown away by their customer service and policies…it was then I was sold on Berroco (fully).  First, they sent me a big, honkin’ (free) box of yarn!  I mean, oh yeeeah…who doesn’t love free yarn?!  No one, that’s who!

Clockwise from top left: Cuzco, Borealis, Jasper, Ultra Alpaca Tonal, Ultra Alpaca, Peruvia, Seduce, Linsey, Origami, Pure Pima, Bonsai, Inca Gold, Blackstone Tweed, Remix, and Flicker

And they also sent me colour cards…I mean actual colour cards with actual pieces of yarn!  This will probably only impress those of you that have ordered yarn online only to receive a COMPLETELY different colour than you thought you were ordering!  And the best, most impressive thing of all…free shipping over a certain amount!  Even to Canada!!!  After just having placed an order with an American company and being dinged $107 shipping on a $500 order, this goes a really, really long way with me.  We, as yarn shops, to stay competitive, have to take certain losses…like sales, free shipping, discount cards, etc…and the favour is rarely returned to us from the wholesalers.  So I have to say, I really appreciate the sentiment, Berroco!

So…I’d love some opinions on Berroco yarns you’ve used…or ones you’ve been pining to try.  The Ultra Alpaca has been used over 15,000 times on Ravelry, so I think that one’s a must.  And the Ultra Alpaca Fine, mainly because it’s such a generous skein for not too much money.  But I’m also curious about some of the others that anyone has tried.  Has anyone used Sox?  Feels rather rough in the skein, but the colour selection is nice.  And sorry, I don’t have any pictures of the Sox, it was quickly snatched up by our resident sockstress, Paula (though I do appreciate the test knit, Pollie!).  I was also surprised to find the Borealis and the Remix (all recycled fibers) to be quite intriging…in spite of the high acrylic content (I am usually a rabid anti-acrylite).  The Inca Gold is also  totally drool worthy, and I don’t have any merino silk blends in yet, so I think that’s a go too.  Also 2 other summer yarns looked nice…Seduce and Linsey…though, lets face it,  it’s not like we ever really get much of a summer here in Newfoundland anyway! 

So I’d love to hear any reviews you’d like to offer up, the good, the bad, and the ugly (not that any of us have ever had an ugly project, right??? ;) ) on the Berroco yarns…it will greatly help with my decision process.  Thanks everyone! :D

Borealis and Inca Gold

Seduce - Shimmery & lightweight

Remix - 100% Recycled fibers

Responses

  1. Hi ya! I made my Reversible Come and Go sweater with the Ultra Alpaca and it is super soft and holding up very nicely after being washed about 4 times now. I would love to get my hands on some Blackstone Tweed to make it again as a cardigan. I just love Norah Gogan’s patterns which are all through Berroco and would love to be able to buy them at the shop as they are not available on line :-)

  2. I would love to get my hands on the Ultra Alpaca. I’ve been eyeing it online but was hesitant to order it without having a feel first/seeing the colour selection. Lots of great reviews on Ravelry, though, as you say. I think I would trial it on a cowl and then hopefully move on to a sweater.

  3. I love working with the Berroco people. They are very in tune with LYS’s! My best sellers are….Ultra Alpaca (all weights), Berroco Sox Metallic, Black Stone Tweed (aran and chunky) and the Peruvias. I love working with Ultra Alpaca Worsted…It is usually my go to worsted weight yarn if I want more than just wool. Also felts wonderfully.
    As far as the summer yarns I have less luck with but they do sell. We are in Canada after all!

    Good Luck!
    Martina

  4. Oh ya! And the patterns are great sellers! Norah Gaughan rocs!

  5. I love the Ultra Alpaca- but that’s the only Berroco yarn I’ve used. I’d love to try the Remix- hint, hint ;)
    So glad you’re liking it all!

  6. Hahaha!!! I totally didn’t mean for it to be a “hint” that you should get Berocco!!! I was just trying to find you something different from what you already had :)

    I’d probably like to try some Berocco worsted – I think I have a pattern that calls for Vintage. I’d also love it if you started selling their pattern booklets. They have such great ones!

  7. Need a substitute for discontinued Berroco Seduce #4448 Verdigris.
    Thanks. Bbhink@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

