Posted by: jennypenny73 | November 30, 2010

The Cozy Car

Well the St. John’s Christmas Parade has finally come and gone.  And as many of you may know, the shop had a “float” in this year’s parade called “The Cozy Car”.  Me, and a group of shop regulars, decided it would be fun to yarn bomb my little car and cruise the parade.  It was a crazy amount of work (I learned to crochet JUST for this project), and took over 5 km of yarn (and that is a very conservative estimate).  The night before the parade, three of us were up till the wee hours of the morning scurrying trying to finish up our sections (sadly there were still a few small parts that never got finished).  But all in all, I was very happy with the finished product…especially considering none of us had ever done anything like this before AND we never had time for a dry run before parade day.  It was a fly by the seat of our pants kinda day…but I think it all worked out, the kids (especially the little boys, funnily enough) seemed to love it, which, of course, was the whole point.  :)

There are a few parts I’d like to tweak and add to before the next attempt at putting this on again…but it’s too soon to think about that right now (I’m still trying to warm up from the cold ride down Water St!).  Thanks again to Paula, Lesley, Leah, Katie, and Rochelle for all your contributions and encouragement. Thanks to Karen for the photo shoot. And a special thanks to Gillian for all the extra help! Couldn’t have done it without you guys!  So…who’s in for next year?!?!

Lesley & I tying on the fishies

Paula!

Almost ready!

Bessie checkin' out the scene

The girls, soaked from the rain, but still having fun (L to R) Bessie, Me, Paula, Gillian, and Lesley.

And off we go!

Responses

  1. The Cozy Car looks awesome! I wish I’d known about it ahead of time… I MIGHT’ve been able to add a few odds and sods, although, looking at the state of my knitting, that might be overly optimistic. I’m a sloooow knitter. Faster painter, thank goodness!

    I can’t imagine what might be missing from your project, as it looks complete! I suppose you could do a hand-knit hat/outfit for Bessie for next year, perhaps with a matching hat and cardigan for yourself. :D

    All in all it was an awesome project and I’m so proud to be your friend!!! Woohoo Jenny and A Good Yarn!

  2. What a great idea! Good for you!

  3. LOVE the Republic flag on the back :-D Glad you had fun!

  4. Had an awesome time. I am so in for next year…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

